Membership of the Governing Body

The Governing Body of Malmesbury Primary School is made up of parents and staff who have been elected, and of people from outside the school, who have been appointed by the Local Education Authority.

People from all walks of life are welcome to become Governors, diversity is important to ensure a varied skill mix to enable the Governing Body to deal with the many and varied issues which arise.

The Governing Body is responsible for the running of the school, and works closely with the Senior Leadership Team.

Governors are responsible for agreeing the annual budget, for ratifying school policies and scrutinising performance to enable them to work with the school to raise standards.

There are six Governing Body meetings each year, along with regular meetings of smaller sub committees such as the Finance and Resources Committee.

In addition to scheduled meetings it is vital that Governors make themselves available to support the Senior Leadership Team with day to day issues, and other initiatives such as working towards the Healthy Schools Award and interviewing new staff. This level of involvement keeps the Governing Body in touch with what is happening within the school, fosters good relationships, and benefits the whole school community.

Anyone interested in becoming a Governor should contact Joanne, or any of the Parent Governors, who would be happy to provide further information.


Frank Harrowell
Dominic Whittle
Staff Governor
Parents-elected by the parents
Jon Griffiths
Casey Stewart-Smith
Ann O’Reilly
Appointed by Tower Hamlets
Community Governors co-opted by the above
Liz Applebee (Chair)
Stephen Gilvin (Vice Chair)


Liz Applebee, is the Chair of the Governing Body, she can be contacted via the school, as can all the Governors.

The Clerk to the Governing Body is Tracey Lee, who can be contacted at:

Mulberry Place,
5 Clove Crescent,
E14 2BG